Still Reading Austen

Most predictably, I’ve missed the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death. I had meant to write an article for the newspaper about why she is read and loved by Malaysians and what relevance the books have to our lives, but I was not as organised or awake as I hoped to be.

I mean to re-read Austen’s six novels this year. I finished Emma a  month ago and am currently re-reading Mansfield Park. Sense and Sensibility next. I may write a review of all six books in one post, but no promises. My energy levels and ability to focus are not predictable these days. But this means that I’m reading more slowly and that’s a good thing. It may even be that, at a slower pace, I understand and appreciate Fanny Price more than I did when I was a teenager (which was when I first made her acquaintance and the last time I read the book). It may also be that I am less impatient now.

As for Emma, I liked her both more and less. And I was totally put off by Frank Churchill – oh how my tolerance for silly young men has diminished over the years. Haha.

CassandraAusten-JaneAusten(c.1810)_hires
Jane Austen (as drawn by Cassandra Austen) (16 December 1775 – 18 July 1817)

 

 

One thought on “Still Reading Austen

  1. Ah, Frank Churchill — let’s hope Jane Fairfax knocked some sense into his head.

    Great letter in yesterday’s Guardian review disputing that Emma is adolescent fiction with no evil or shadows: “a 20-year-old woman has been manipulated by her widowed father into believing she could never leave him. A man who is old enough to be her father and is a close friend of her father confesses he has been in love with her since she was 13. She agrees to marry him on condition that all three live togrther in her father’s house…”

    The letter writer’s conclusion? “Disturbing.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

