Conversations With the Dead

There are these things in my head and they trickle like cold water into my heart. I suspect I feel more than I used to, yet less than I did yesterday when your letter came.

Reading your news, I could see what I needed to do, but the moment it was back in its envelope, I was back to normal. Is that normal?

Sentimental Guy

There’s a moment in my mind
I scribbled and erased a thousand times
Like a letter never written or sent
These conversations with the dead
I used to be a sentimental guy
Now I’m haunted by the left unsaid

I never thought so much could change

Little things you said or did
Are part of me, come out from time to time
Probably no one I know now would notice

But I never thought so much could change

You drifted far away
Far away it seems
Time has stopped, the clock keeps going

People talkin’ and I’m watching
As flashes of their faces go black and white
And fade to yellow in a box in an attic
But I never thought so much
Could change, now I don’t miss anyone
I don’t miss anything
What a shame cause I used to be a sentimental guy

 

Songwriter
FOLDS, BENJAMIN SCOTT

Published by
Lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

 

Leave a Reply

