With the Top Down and the Wind Blowing

Further thoughts on Crowded House’s Not the Girl You Think You Are

It’s my favourite song by the band despite having previously felt it was a rather depressing one about losing oneself and being the person you think you have to be in order to be loved and wanted.

Well, I was listening to it this morning and I had an epiphany: This song is about the false negative perceptions one has about oneself. It’s about feeling you will never be liked for who you are; it’s about the years of disappointment breaking you down so that you don’t think you deserve happiness.

That’s not who you are. That’s not who I am. I deserve to be happy and loved. I am loved; I have lots to be happy about. And I do believe that Don is one in a million.

 

Leave a Reply

