Having It All or Doing It All?

Today I was introduced to a blogger (Emma) who draws her thoughts about social issues. The blog post that I read is called You Should Have Asked and explains why women tend to end up doing everything at home.

(Hmm, even as I typed the last sentence I found myself wondering, guiltily, if it’s actually all my fault that I don’t get any help at home. That is another story though.)

Right now my ex-husband has moved back into my flat, with me and our children (a long story that I won’t go into right now) and does next to nothing to help with the chores. I badly want to tell him to get out, but I admit I’m afraid that things might get ugly if I do. Still, I know I am going to have to tell him that sharing a space just isn’t going to work.

Anyway, I read Emma’s comic and almost every frame made me want to cry because it was such a relief to know that it wasn’t all just me being a total failure at managing and being assertive and all the rest.

emma3
From ‘You Should’ve Asked’.

Why do I even need to ask?

Emma talks about how men put women in the role of ‘manager of household chores’. This means it’s the woman’s job to know what needs to be done, and this explains why it doesn’t occur to your partner that the dishes need washing. He’s waiting for you to tell him what his very specific tasks are and in the meantime, he’s too busy watching the latest episode of Big Bang Theory or listening to his Tim Buckley albums to figure it out himself … well, he doesn’t need to, does he? He’s not the manager of household chores.

Anyway, check out Emma’s post. If you’re a woman who’s permanently exhausted from housework , you will find everything Emma says all too familiar.

 

Leave a Reply

