Wine, Cheese, Olives, Weekend …

It’s Friday!

This weekend, I wish myself wine and cheese.

This article tells you how to host a wine-and-cheese-pairing party. Sounds stressful.

I’m not adventurous when it comes to cheeses. I can’t stand anything smelly or that looks like it may walk away by itself, or like it’s involved in trials for new antibiotics.

And I can’t drink red wine – I break out in a rash.

So, it’ll be a medium white, with some unremarkable cheeses. Oh and olives. There will be olives.

wine and cheese 2

 

PS Here’s an article about wine and junk food pairings. The sweet stuff sounds sick-making, but I could go with bacon-wrapped anything with a dry Marsala; and jalapeno poppers with German Pradikat Riesling.

4 thoughts on “Wine, Cheese, Olives, Weekend …

  1. “I can’t stand anything smelly or that looks like … it’s involved in trials for new antibiotics.”

    I’ve never thought of blue cheese (or indeed cheese of any colour) in these terms before, and it will from now on forever, um, ‘colour” my view of Stilton, Roquefort and the rest! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When my friends from the West complain about the smell of durian (have you come across this fruit?), I always wonder about cheeses that (to me) smell like feet or drains, which they gobble up with great enjoyment. I guess it’s what one is used to. Having said that, I do have white friends who love durian and I know Asians who love smelly cheese 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t day I’m familiar with durian. I do however remember being disgusted by lychees (?spelling) not so much for the smell as the look and texture, so much so that I refused to even taste it. Growing up in Hong Kong meant I was exposed to lots of strong food smells, most of which didn’t offend me, but I seem to remember having violent reactions to certain apparently innocuous foods like sweet tomatoes and most sea food.

      So, taste more than smell does it for me. Whether that’s an aspect of autism I don’t know, but plenty of so-called neurotypicals have extreme reactions to certain sensory stimuli too. But it may simply be cultural — nurture rather than nature, say.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

