The Comfort of Crime Fiction

IMG_1573I am currently reading Natural Causes the first book of James Oswald’s Inspector McClean series.

In my current state of depression and distress, I find the procedure and method involved in crime solving calming and comforting. The grisly descriptions of murders, victims and scenes are a welcome distraction, far removed from my reality and absorbing in their significance to the plot.

There are seven novels in the series. And after that there are the Inspector Chens I haven’t read; and the Gervase Fens I want to try.

Will I require that much distraction and for so long? I hope not, but it’s good to know that I have help on standby if and when I need it.

 

Leave a Reply

