Two hundred years and counting

I didn’t realise til I read this blog post by Calmgrove that 2017 is the bicentenary of Jane Austen’s death. Should I re-read her novels? I haven’t read any (apart from my favourite, Persuasion) in years, but I know, from experience, that planning to re-read more than one novel doesn’t work with me. I shall, perhaps choose one title and see how it goes.

I love Persuasion because it’s about second chances and remaining steadfast in love. My favourite quotes:

Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant.

and

All the privilege I claim for my own sex (it is not a very enviable one: you need not covet it), is that of loving longest, when existence or when hope is gone!

Is it stupidly romantic of me to believe in true love? Is it naive to hope that my partner will remain constant?

I may re-read Persuasion again after all.

persuasion1

Persuasion watercolour illustrations by C. E. Brock

 

5 thoughts on “Two hundred years and counting

  1. One size doesn’t fit all, but it would be lovely if — like certain species of animals — partners in a relationship stayed faithful for life, for the mutual advantage of both. Perhaps the main problem comes when individuals grow or develop at different rates to their partner, or common interests diverge. “Happily ever after” isn’t necessarily the consequence of a happy wedding, sadly, a state of affairs that Austen doesn’t dwell on much.

    My partner and I haven’t always seen eye to eye, but I’d like to think that after 45 years of marriage we know each other’s wants and needs a lot better and make allowances for the little foibles that inevitably emerge that could kead to irritation!

    I don’t why I’ve gone all confessional — I suppose it’s my weak attempt to describe what true love could look like!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing, Chris. Im going to share too. Back in 2006, my then-husband cheated on me my marriage fell apart in an extremely messy manner. I was single for seven years after that and then I met someone who turned out to be a sociopath. Luckily he dumped me just three months into the relationship. Five months after that, I met my current partner and the three years we’ve been together have been stressful and distressing due to circumstances and events outside the relationship. As a partner, Don is kind, generous, caring and calm. I like him so much and I kind of like the fact that things haven’t been easy because I feel that staying together through all the hardship proves that we are truly committed. To me, that’s what happily ever after is about – going the distance come what may. However, new developments have taken place that seem to have totally broken Don’s spirit and resolve, and our relationship looks like it might fall apart. I’m devastated and depressed, and have no idea what to do except assure him that I’m with him, no matter what. So that’s the situation. He is so far away and I don’t know if I’ll ever see him again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It must have been painful to recount all this, Daphne, an already painful situation following years of pain. I can’t begin to appreciate what you’ve gone through but I can commiserate and I can and will wish you a speedy and happy resolution, if that’s any comfort. May you stay positive, because when all else seems lost there’s always hope.

      (I’m aware that sounds like a trite comment from some film or other, but it’s sincerely meant.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

