Top Three Tuesday:Books I Wish Were Part of a Ten-Book Series

It seems that every fantasy and sci-fi book that’s been published in recent years has been a trilogy, at very least. So, I sometimes take it for granted, when I read a new book belonging to these two genres, that there’ll be another two books to enjoy once I’ve finished the first. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish), I’m listing three books that I wish were part of longer series.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartmann – I realised it wasn’t going to be a trilogy when I got to the end of the sequel Shadow Scale and eagerly asked my book merchandiser friend (who had recommended Seraphina in the first place) when number three was due to be published. She said there was only going to be two books and I was crushed.

But perhaps not as crushed as when I found out that …

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison is a standalone.

The Imperial Radch series is a trilogy, but I want more books.

In all three cases, it’s my attachment to and interest in the books’ main characters that make me want more stories about them. Just re-reading the books that exist would be like looking at pictures of a friend and never learning anything new about their lives.

Leave a Reply

