Top Ten Tuesday: White Women Authors

For this week’s  Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish) we’re supposed to list ‘Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So’. Instead, I’m listing my favourite white women authors. I have read and loved at least three books by each of the authors on this list, and I’m restricting myself to the twentieth century; and also authors of books for adult readers, although Tove Jansson is better known as the author of the Moomin series. I have also included one non-fiction author: Elizabeth David, who wrote about food.

Why white women? Because there was a time when they were practically the only authors I read. How small my world was then, and yet not. Anyway, I still love them all.

P.S. I think most of these authors are underrated; and some may even be forgotten by most.

 

Leave a Reply

