Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Meant to Read in 2016

For this week’s  Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish), we’re supposed to list ‘Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)’. However, just as I don’t know what books are due out this year, I didn’t know what was due out last year. I stopped knowing when I stopped being in charge of the newspaper’s books pages and stopped even more when I stopped writing my children’s book column.

There are books I wanted to read last year, ‘didn’t get to and TOTALLY plan to’, but they were not released in 2016. Sofia Amatar’s A Stranger in Olandria is one of them. I did begin, but didn’t finish. I plan to get back to it as soon as I’ve finished with The Secret Loves of Geek Girls.

Other books I either didn’t get round to reading, or started reading and never finished, but will definitely get back to:

Making Wolf by Tade Thompson

Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkins

Graceland by Chris Abani

The Three-Body Problem Cixin Liu (actually, I’m not quite sure if I will get back to this)

Telling Times by Nadine Gordimer

The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor

Zahra the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu

Alternative Alamat, edited by Paolo Chikiamco

That’s eleven and there are more.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

