Next stop?

My partner has left for Nigeria. The next time we meet it will be in Lagos.

It’s a relief that he is about to start living again, because his life here in Malaysia was not a real life. We have had a fucked up two-and-a-half-years – two-and-a-half of the hardest years I’ve ever lived. What couldn’t we face now, after what we’ve experienced? At least I know that we are up for anything. If the struggles we faced didn’t rip us apart, then nothing will.

I hope to leave Malaysia for Nigeria in January (yes 2017), but I don’t know how possible that will be. It depends on a variety of things. I should make a list and cross things off.

Money, or the lack of it, looms large. Doesn’t it always? If there were enough, I might be at his side, on the plane, right now. Might.

More accurately, if there was enough money and if it were just about me, I would be there with him now. If it were just about me, January wouldn’t still be in question (it’s my question; he is sure, but I don’t dare assume things will work out). But I have to think of another person, my daughter, whom I want to go with me; and who wants to go with me. I have to think of telling my ex that I am leaving. I am filled with fear. What if, what if, what if?

I am paralysed at the moment. What do I do next? Make a list. Work hard. Save money. sort out my clothes. Sort out my books. Sort out my life. Prepare for the big reveal. Play Sims 4.

Do whatever is easiest first. Breathe.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

