Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’m Dying to Discuss

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish) we’re supposed to pick ‘Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _______________’

I haven’t participated in a book club discussion in a long while, but I do like the fact that these groups encourage you, at least in theory, to read outside your comfort zone.

I thought I would I list the books I’ve read (and wouldn’t have otherwise) thanks to being in a book club, but, sadly, the only one I can think of is Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

What I will list instead are books that I’d choose to discuss if I were Supreme Ruler of a Book Club. Members of book discussion groups usually take turns choosing the books they read, but this book club would be a dictatorship, with me, its benevolent tyrant, picking every single book.

I’ve chosen these books (including four series) because I think they would be fun to talk about – for various reasons, including their plots, characters and settings, use of language, ideas and illustrations.

  1. Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
  2. The Glassblower’s Children by Maria Gripe, with illustrations by Harald Gripe
  3. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  4. Possession by AS Byatt
  5. The Imperial Radch Trilogy by Ann Leckie
  6. The Gardens of Dorr by Paul Biegel, with illustrations by Eva-Johanna Rubin
  7. The Palm-Wine Drinkard by Amos Tutuola
  8. Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor
  9. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
  10. Soza Boy by Ken Saro-Wiwa
Leave a Reply

