It’s in the trees! It’s coming!

hounds

I’ve been singing Kate Bush’s Running Up That Hill in the car a lot lately. The reasons are not a mystery to me, but I don’t feel like going into them right now.

I made a funeral playlist on YouTube a while back and that song is in it. A funeral playlist is not supposed to consist of funereal songs – that is not my interpretation anyway. I chose songs that are significant to me and my life, and there should be many more than just twelve songs, so I will add to it by and by.

The Hounds of Love (Kate Bush’s 1985 album) was released in 1985. I was eighteen and I remember leaping around my room to Running Up the Hill (the first single), and falling in love with The Ninth Wave, the concept piece on Side B.  

kate-bush-ninth-wave-lp

The Ninth Wave comprises seven songs which tell the story of a drowning girl, or a girl adrift at sea – slipping in and out of consciousness, hallucinating, remembering, imagining. It’s a bloody terrifying song, some parts downright nightmarish.

Listen for yourself … The Ninth Wave starts at 21:02. The rest of the album is also excellent:

One thought on “It’s in the trees! It’s coming!

Leave a Reply

