Happy Independence Day, Nigeria!

flag_of_nigeria-svgToday is the 56th anniversary of Nigeria’s independence.

I hope I’ll be celebrating its 57th independent year in Lagos, with Don. Well, that’s the plan, but to be honest, it doesn’t seem real to me right now.

I asked a contact in Lagos to recommend a Nigerian blog to me and he directed me to Linda Ikeji‘s site. Apparently she is Nigeria’s most popular and famous blogger. The blog comprises a mix of local and international current affairs and entertainment news. A glance showed me the Kardashians, vote-buying at the Edo State elections, Obama worship, more Kardashians, and (my favourite) this post about a Nigerian Christian pastor condemning an ‘evil’ cat. Whatever else Nigeria may be, it definitely is far from boring.

Happy Independence Day, Naija!

 

Leave a Reply

