It’s all about moimoi

Don’s brother, Iyke, made moimoi the other day so I finally got to try this food that I’ved been reading about in various Nigerian novels.

moi1As far as I can tell it’s made from black eyed peas, onions and fresh chillies, which are blended into a paste. Iyke added shredded fresh mackerel to the mix, which was then double-bagged in plastic and then boiled in water.

I didn’t think the finished product [left] looked very appetising, but it was delicious. And my kids liked it too.

Don says it wasn’t the best he’s had so I look forward to trying the ‘real thing’ in Nigeria.

While looking up moimoi online, I came across this Nigerian recipe website – not that I intend to do any cooking of this sort. I shall leave that to Don: My egg sauce never tastes anywhere as nice as his.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

