Ink Crisis, part 2

So, yesterday, my daughter I-Shan, my friend Ann-Marie and I went to Ink Crisis, Chin Yew and Stephanie Yong’s joint art show. It’s at Findar’s, a space on the fourth floor of a shophouse on Jalan Panggung (China Town). (I was quite pleased that the climb up the stairs left me sweaty but not breathless.)

The walls of the space was covered with pictures by the two artists, including art drawn directly on the white paint. The contrast of black ink on the white wall was attractive and, although there was a lot going on, it didn’t look crowded or overwhelming – as it might have if lots of colours had been used.

panorama

We got there just in time for the ‘opening ceremony’: in lieu of the traditional ribbon-cutting gesture, Chin Yew blew up a pink balloon and stuck it on his self-portrait to this Hokkien song!

Chin Yew writes on his Patreon site: ‘It was a great opening with a song I personally selected, a traditional Hokkien-dialect song, knowing my mom is there, as she is a Hokkein herself (I’m not, I’m half-breed), she would definitely love it! And the song suits the mood and spirit of the show too, of underground-indie people going through hardship and it is hardship that makes you stronger. I believe this song is meant to inspire hardship people to continue striving.’ I love it that Chin Yew thought of his mum when choosing this song.

The art surrounding the self-portrait are Chin Yew’s strips that are the ‘rewards’ that those supporting him on Patreon get. The strips are updated daily, and depending on the amount pledge, patrons only get occasional, limited-edition physical comics, like these:

I’ve thought of signing on to Patreon myself, but I don’t think I’m disciplined or committed enough. Then again, it might just be the kick-up-the-butt I need to keep me from slacking off. (I would hate to let my supporters down.) Well, I shall have to think about it some more – especially what I can offer patrons in exchange for their pledges.

In the meantime, I am extremely happy to support Chin Yew. Do pop by his page on Patreon to find out more about his work.:

cypatreon

Find out more about his work and support Chin Yew on Patreon.

As for Stephanie Yong, I’m so glad I went for the show and got to see her work upclose. The murals she did were a big hit with Ann-Marie and me as you can see …

 

Love the pig at the bottom of this one …

stephaniewall2

Stephanie art is for sale at the show, from about RM200. You can also grab some zines that she’s contributed some strips to, and also some packets of stickers featuring her gorgeously detailed cityscapes.

The cityscapes are a glorious, detailed muddle and mess of shapes, both man-made and natural, and featuring witty and fantastical elements, including some sly wordplay on billboards and signs. I’m hoping to get a picture for my small but precious collection by Malaysian indie artists.

Really enjoyed the afternoon at Ink Crisis, and plan to visit again.

If you’re interested, here are the details:

Date: 20th August – 3rd September 2016
Viewing Hours: 12pm – 7pm
Location: FINDARS, No.8, 4th floor , Jalan Panggung, 50000 Kuala Lumpur

One thought on “Ink Crisis, part 2

Leave a Reply

