My Igbo Journey (some background)

Not long ago I wrote a post which I titled ‘My Igbo Journey, part 1’. I am anticipating many parts to this journey, and perhaps even a blog devoted to it, although the focus may be Nigeria/Africa rather than specifically Igbo.

Two years ago I met and fell in love with a Nigerian man and he happens to be Igbo. We intend to marry and I hope to move to Lagos. I imagine there will be much to write about when I do. In fact, our relationship has been as challenging as it has been fulfilling and I wish I had written about it from the start – not because I feel the need to share my personal life with strangers, but because I feel the way we’ve grown together as people from different backgrounds and cultures has been an education, for both of us, and it would have been good to be able to look back and see how far we’ve come from those early days of constant misunderstandings and adjustments.

Well, we have a long way to go yet, and there is still much to discover about and learn from one another. I’m really excited about what lies ahead for us, and I’m also looking forward to moving to a new country, a new continent, and experiencing the myriad of cultures that make up Nigeria.

 

 

Leave a Reply

