‘Was it your dead child?’

by the pricking of my thumbsWhile I was saving book cover pics for my ‘favourite mysteries’ list, I got the urge to re-read Agatha Christie’s By the Pricking of My Thumbs, so I am. It has been many years since I read this book, but there are some details which I remember quite clearly, like the ruby and diamond brooch that Tuppence puts on to cheer herself up after the funeral; and the jeweled ring that spells ‘regard’; also, of course, the old woman with the cloud of white hair, drinking milk and asking Tuppence, ‘Was it your dead child?’ Looking forward to the story unfolding as I don’t recall the finer points of the plot.

It feels like I may also be re-reading Pale Horse, another Agatha Christie murder mystery. Didn’t expect to this Christie re-visit (not right now, anyway), but, as I said in this post, it’s hard to predict where my reading will take me. I could of course force myself to stick to lists and plans, but I think this way is more natural and enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

