Ten Facts About Me

This is my first time participating in Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Here’s to many more Top Tens!

  1. I’ve just started book blogging again. I used to have a blog called The Places You Will Go, which is still out there, but I’m in the process of making this space an archive for all my book reviews and author interviews, and also where I can carry on book blogging.
  2. I don’t like the Harry Potter books, and I’ve only watched 20 minutes of the first movie (fell asleep after that).
  3. I love Enid Blyton’s series books, especially The Famous Five and the Adventure series.
  4. I still read Nancy Drew mysteries because she’s just so ridiculous. Some years back I discovered Susan Sand, a sort of Nancy parody, and I aspire to own all those books. There aren’t many.
  5. I belong to a couple of book groups that discuss ‘girlsown’ type books, which are stories set in boarding schools, and also certain classics by authors like L. M. Montgomery, Louisa May Alcott, Arthur Ransome, Susan Coolidge and Malcolm Saville.
  6.   Antonia Forest is my favourite children’s author. She wrote thirteen books in all, twelve of which feature a family called Marlow (two of these books are set during Elizabethan times, while the rest have a 20th century setting).
  7. I am fond of books by dead white women like Elizabeth Goudge, Barbara Pym, Rumer Godden, Elizabeth Bowen and Pamela Frankau. They are my comfort reads.
  8. A few years ago, I made a conscious decision to read more Asian and African authors, and as a result, two Nigerian authors (Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Nnedi Okorafor) are now on my list of favourites.
  9. I like stories set in Convents. Rumer Godden has written the best ones.
  10. If I could be a character from fiction it would be … Maree Mallory from Diana Wynne Jones’s Deep Secret, but after all the trouble.
2 thoughts on “Ten Facts About Me

Leave a Reply

