Until next season

I’m feeling sad because I’ve loved this season of Girls. WHAT WILL I DO WHEN THE SERIES ENDS next year?

Picture

Epi 8
Hannah was probably the most annoying she’s ever been in this one. Couldn’t she have broken up with Fran before they started their road trip? Did she really have to give Ray a blow job? (I really can’t wrap my head round the blow job – what sort of person gives a friend oral sex? It’s not a heat of passion thing either, so the answer I’m thinking of is ‘a sociopath’.)

Plus, after causing Ray to overturn his brand new USD50K coffee truck, she hitches a ride back to New York with a random stranger, leaving poor Ray to wait for his mechanic. He came to rescue her after she breaks up with Fran, and she leaves him all alone at the side of the road? She really is a selfish, ungrateful piece of turd.

But I still love her.

I also still despise the Adam-Jessa combo. Not good. Wish they would just kill each other and be done with it.

Epi 9
Ray and Marnie? I don’t hate this combo as much as Adam and Jessa, but why not Ray and Shosh? I loved their reunion, and I really liked Shoshana this season. But Ray and Marnie? Well, if it makes Ray happy, I guess. I just hope she doesn’t turn out to be a dick to him. What are the chances? Practically nil, but I will hope. Also, looking at any relationship from the outside in, do we ever think any couple is perfectly matched? Do people think Don would be better off without me, and that I’m throwing my life away by being with him?

Epi 10
I liked this final episode, but I really did not need to see Jessa’s bush.

Jessa and Adam – they are predictably self-destructive as a couple, and it seems too easy to portray this pairing that way. However, a peaceful, stable relationship between them would have annoyed me, so I look forward to them possibly killing one another if allowed to stay together through season 6 (the last season, boo hoo). Then again, maybe, after this huge fight, they will settle down and be chill. I don’t see it happening, but I guess it all depends on the futures Lena Dunham decides to write for them.

I think Hannah really might be moving on and up – whatever that may mean – and I can’t wait to find out what happens to her and her ‘friends next year.

I still don’t know if I should do a weekly review of the series from season 1. Like I haven’t already too much to do.

Leave a Reply

