Big girls don’t cry part 2

So, I ‘ve been thinking of that final scene in the latest episode of Girls (season 5) and I just watched it again. It’s not as devastating this time round, but still pretty painful.

I’m just wondering what Hannah’s reaction means. Is there more to it than feeling shocked and hurt that two of her closest friends have lied to her? Or is she still in love with Adam?

Watching the scene, I realised something: I’ve felt those intense feelings of sadness having realised or been told that I’ve lost someone, and of course, the feelings have passed after some time, but the memory of those emotions doesn’t fade. They’re right there, easily called up, so easily recognised. I don’t ever want to feel like that again, and who’s to say I will. But … I know that trust can be broken in the blink of an eye, when you least expect it to be – although you may later realise that all the signs were there all along.

Picture

The look of love: Hannah recognises that Jessa’s smiling face spells betrayal.
Leave a Reply

